ClassicsOnline - Your Classical Music Source New Features Newsletter
Log In to your Account
Dear ClassicsOnline customer,

Below are our three new banner features this week. First, Naxos brings us another volume of the Rossini Overtures series from the Prague Sinfonia with Christian Benda. Next we pay tribute to the late Sir Colin Davis by highlighting his catalog with the London Symphony Orchestra. Plus, we showcase Les Voix Humaines' interpretation of J.S. Bach's The Art of Fugue, featured with an eclectic group of other arrangements of that mysterious piece of music, one that was never orchestrated by Bach himself.

Enjoy the new features at ClassicsOnline,
The ClassicsOnline Team

This Week's New Features - Thursday, May 16, 2013

Rossini Overtures Volume 2 - Prague Sinfonia, Christian Benda The distillations of Rossini's genius for opera are found in his operatic overtures. The themes around which his masterworks were constructed are presented in shorter pieces containing all the wit, invention and tragicomic flair of the larger works. Naxos continues the four volume series with Volume 2, containing his best known overture, William Tell. more info
Remembering Sir Colin Davis ClassicsOnline pays tribute to Sir Colin Davis, the beloved Principal Conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra. The featured release inside was his last performance with the London Symphony Orchestra, especially fitting as his interpretations of Berlioz are an essential part of his legacy. more info
The Art of Fugue - Les Voix Humaines J.S. Bach's final work, The Art of Fugue, is a crowning achievement of Baroque contrapuntal style. Composed as a series of fugues on the same subject, Bach never assigned instruments to the various parts, creating a musical puzzle for generations of musicians to creatively interpret. Here, the viol duo Les Voix Humaines expands their ensemble to offer their performance of this charming, essential work. more info
Last Chance: Alan Cumming - Shakespeare Speeches
Alan Cumming - Shakespeare Speeches The Head that Wears a Crown is the new collection of Shakespeare's most important and beloved royal speeches performed by internationally acclaimed actor and Tony Award winner, Alan Cumming. All the speeches were selected by Cumming, and include; "To be or not to be," "Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow," "Now is the winter of our discontent," and more. more info

Like us on Facebook
   Follow us on Twitter

Copyright © 2013 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.